Delete a channel¶
Currently, you can only delete a channel using Status desktop.
Community owners can delete channels within their communities. As a community owner, when you delete a channel, all messages and files associated with that channel are also deleted.
Once you delete a channel, it can't be retrieved or restored.
What to expect¶
You can only delete a channel if you are the community owner.
When you delete a channel, it disappears immediately, and all users lose access to its content (messages and files).
If you delete a private channel, the permissions you configured for the channel are also lost. If you want to recreate the channel, you need to configure its permissions again.
- From the navigation sidebar, click the community with the channel you want to delete.
- In the Community sidebar, right-click the channel.
- Select Delete Channel.
- In the Delete pop-up window, click Delete.